31

So…
I turned 31 this week. I was so concerned before I turned 30. I thought it was going to be this huge deal. Some big, life altering thing… but it wasn’t. When I was younger I thought that by this age, I’d have my life figured out. But I don’t. I never thought that at age 31 I’d be living with my parents… divorced, broke, just barely starting a career… a college student!! I thought I’d have a home, a solid career… a traditional family.
Isn’t is funny how life throws us these curveballs?

No… my life is not what I had hoped it would be. It’s not what I was expecting. Hard times come more often than I like… Especially lately!! But I am truly happy.

A few months back, I walked away from a decade long friendship… a friendship with a family who I loved as my own. This was a very difficult decision for me, but was one that changed my life for the better. As I walked away I was told “If you walk away, God will not go with you, and you will not be blessed”. That sentence haunted me. I was terrified. But it proves exactly why I had to walk away. I had given power to people who were unworthy. They used that power to control and manipulate me. And they were so wrong. I constantly lived my life in fear that if I messed up, God would not allow my to be happy. That all His good plans for my life would collapse if I made one wrong move. But that’s not how God works, is it?

I walked away from that friendship, and I am happier now than I have ever been in my life.
Yes, I just started in my career, but I’m working my dream job!
Yes, I am a broke college student, but I am finally working towards my degree, and I am doing well!!
Yes, I’m a single mom, but I have a great support group. And I am balancing work and school while still homeschooling my daughter.

For the first time in my life, I feel like I am exactly where God wants me to be. I have never felt more certain of myself. I am completely happy and at peace in my heart and with God.

 

One thought on “31

  1. I know how hard it is to let go of toxic people in our lives because we have loved them and there are sometimes many layers to peal back just getting away. Plus, it is scary, the unknown going forward.

    You sound good, Chrissy… God Bless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

