Full of Life

“Isn’t it funny how day by day nothing changes,
but when you look back everything is different.”
(Possibly C.S.Lewis)

I came to this park to reflect again today. And I was surprised by what I found…

When I cam here 2 months ago I wept. My heart broke at the devastation caused by the floods. All I could see was how it mirrored my pain…

I sit on the same bench. I look across the same field. I see the same grass…
But everything is different!!!

Where I once saw death and destruction, I now see new life!! I see hope!!
I danced barefoot on this new green grass today. I rejoiced in how God makes things new in His time. How He loves and cares for His creation.
I took a deep breath… The air that once smelled sour is now fresh!
Deep breath after deep breath!! I laughed for joy!
It isn’t perfect yet… there is still some water. There are portions of the park that are fenced off that weren’t before. The playground is still closed.
But what progress!! What a dramatic change!!

I feel my heart has changed the same. I no longer mourn the loss of my marriage. I am grateful for the good times, but also for the hard times.
There are places in my heart that are fenced off… Not quite ready to be opened…
But I have hope for my future. With or without another man. I am happy.
I still have a beautiful family. It just looks different now. And that’s ok.
I am free!!  Resting in the One who remains Faithful above all…

And I am so full of life!!

Psalm 30:11-12
“You have turned for me my mourning into dancing;
    you have loosed my sackcloth
    and clothed me with gladness,
that my glory may sing your praise and not be silent.
    O Lord my God, I will give thanks to you forever!”

Isaiah 43: 18-19
“Remember not the former things,
    nor consider the things of old.
Behold, I am doing a new thing;
    now it springs forth, do you not perceive it?
I will make a way in the wilderness
    and rivers in the desert.”

Leave a Reply

